Is a telehandler a forklift?

While forklifts only have forks that lift loads up and down, telehandlers feature booms that can be fitted with different attachments. Telehandlers can easily move loads forward and backwards without having to move their base, while forklifts are required to drive forward and back to place loads in different spots.

What is the difference between a forklift and a telehandler?

Unlike forklifts that only have their lifting forks, the boom on telescopic handlers can have different attachments fitted to it to help carry out specific functions.

What class forklift is a telehandler?

Technically speaking, a telehandler is considered a (ITA*) class 7 powered industrial truck, which means it is a rough terrain forklift, but a forklift in name only.

What category is a telehandler?

Telehandlers are driven on a cat B license so the driver needs to have passed a car test, then it up to 3.5 tonnes for 17 year olds, up to 7.5 tonnes for 18 year olds and only over 7.5 tonnes if you are over 21.

Do I need a lift plan for a telehandler?

When all of the documents are consulted, it is clear that lift plans are not a requirement for telehandlers unless they have an attachment which converts their use as a crane. Also there is confusion of an Appointed Person to complete lift plans and a person appointed to plan and risk assess a load being moved.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the three major parts of a forklift?

What are 3 types of forklift trucks?

What are the different Forklift types?

  • Class I: Electric Motor Rider Forklifts.
  • Class II: Electric Motor Narrow Aisle Forklifts (Reach Trucks, Order Pickers)
  • Class III: Electric Pallet Jacks, Stackers, and Tow Tractors.
  • Class IV: Internal Combustion Cushion Tire Forklifts.

What are the 7 classes of forklifts?

The 7 Classes of Forklift Trucks

  • Class 1: Electric Motor Rider Trucks.
  • Class 2: Electric Motor Narrow Aisle Trucks.
  • Class 3: Electric Motor Hand or Hand-Rider Trucks.
  • Class 4: Internal Combustion Engine Trucks—Cushion Tires.
  • Class 5: Internal Combustion Engine Trucks—Pneumatic Tires.

Do forklift drivers need to be certified?

OSHA does require that every forklift operator be trained and certified to operate the powered industrial truck in the workplace, and that the operator’s performance be evaluated on the provisions of 1910.178(l)(3) every three years. … That is the only operating “license” required by OSHA.

When should you drive a forklift backwards?

“Drive backwards if the load obstructs your forward view; but use a rotating seat if you have one. Otherwise the frequent twisting will put excessive strain on your spine.” That, in brief, is the recommendation set out for drivers and operators.

What asset class is a forklift?

Forklift Truck Depreciation Schedule

This category of equipment falls in the five-year depreciation range as a five-year property. This means that you have five years to depreciate the cost of the equipment on your taxes.

How long does a telehandler ticket last?

Telehandler Refresher Training. Our Telehandler lift truck refresher courses are perfect for operators who have already been trained and hold a telescopic forklift certificate. A telescopic forklift certificate doesn’t expire but the HSE recommend that operators should refresh their skills every 3 to 5 years.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the 4 main causes of injuries when using forklifts OSHA?

How far can a telehandler reach?

The Genie® GTH™-1256 telehandler delivers productivity with a large lifting capacity, high reach and compact maneuverability.


Specificatijon Value
Max Lift Height 56 ft
Max Forward Reach 42 ft
Capacity at Max Height 7,000 lb
Capacity at Max Reach 3,500 lb

How much is a telehandler ticket?

Telescopic Handler CITB (CPCS) course costs

Product Cost
Theory Test £100 +VAT
Practical Test £325 +VAT
CSCS HS&E Test Fee £17.50
CPCS Card Fee £30.00